City & County Joint Planning Commission Brookings, South Dakota November 2, 2021

## **OFFICIAL MINUTES**

City Chairperson Gregg Jorgenson called the meeting of the City & County Planning Commission to order on Tuesday, November 2, 2021, at 7:30 PM in the Chambers Room #310 on the third floor of the City & County Government Center. City members present were James Drew, Greg Fargen, Lee Ann Pierce, Roger Solum, and Jorgenson. Absent were Tanner Aiken, Justin Borns and Jacob Mills.

County members present were Chairperson Chad Ford, Mike Bartley, Spencar Diedrich, Kyle Vanderwal, alternate-Dale Storhaug, Darrel Kleinjan, Neal Trooien, and alternate-Roger Erickson. Absent were Brian Gatzke, Randy Jensen and Michael McHugh.

Also present were Community Development Director Mike Struck, City Planner Ryan Miller, County Development Deputy Director Richard Haugen, and Luke Muller-First District Association of Local Governments.

**Item #1** – Roll Call

**Item #2** – (Drew/Solum) Motion by the City Planning Commission to approve the agenda. All present voted aye. **MOTION CARRIED** 

(Vanderwal/Bartley) Motion by the County Planning Commission to approve the agenda. All present voted aye. **MOTION CARRIED.** 

<u>Item #3a -</u> (Pierce/Solum) Motion by the City Planning Commission to approve the September 7, 2021 Joint Jurisdiction Minutes. All present voted aye.

(Vanderwal/Bartley) Motion by the County Planning Commission to approve the Joint Meeting Minutes. All present voted aye. MOTION CARRIED

<u>Item #4a – Discussion and review on updating the Joint Jurisdiction Zoning Ordinance Draft.</u>

The meeting was adjourned at 8:43 p.m.	
Ryan Miller City Planner	Gregg Jorgenson, Chairperson

City and County Joint Planning Commission Brookings, South Dakota November 2, 2021

## **OFFICIAL SUMMARY**

City Chairperson Gregg Jorgenson called the meeting of the City & County Planning Commission to order on Tuesday, November 2, 2021, at 7:30 PM in the Chambers Room #310 on the third floor of the City & County Government Center. City members present were James Drew, Greg Fargen, Lee Ann Pierce, Roger Solum, and Jorgenson. Absent were Tanner Aiken, Justin Borns, and Jacob Mills.

County members present were Chairperson Chad Ford, Mike Bartley, Spencar Diedrich, Kyle Vanderwal, alternate-Dale Storhaug, Darrel Kleinjan, Neal Trooien, and alternate-Roger Erickson. Absent were Brian Gatzke, Randy Jensen and Michael McHugh.

Also present were Community Development Director Mike Struck, City Planner Ryan Miller, County Development Deputy Director Richard Haugen, and Luke Muller-First District Association of Local Governments.

<u>Item #4a – Muller provided a copy of the Joint Jurisdiction map that was agreed upon by the subcommittee and the Joint Committee. This map has shifted slight in all directions since the last map that was drawn for the current Joint Jurisdiction Ordinance.</u>

There will be some changes to the Administrative Section of the Ordinance. A Joint Board of Adjustment will be created to handle any requests in the Ag zoned area. Any property with another use district will get conditional uses and variances from the City in accordance with the City's zoning ordinance. The Joint Board of Adjustment would consist of 1 County Commission, 2 County Planning Commission members, 1 City Planning Commission member and 1 City Council member. Bartley, Pierce and Struck explained that the subcommittee decided that another board would be beneficial to be sure that all parties have an interest in requests in the joint area. Ford asked how the college requests would be handled in the 3 mile JJA. Struck explained that currently the college doesn't have to follow the City Ordinances and Regulations.

Muller explained the area requirements in the Agricultural District. What is currently in place vs the proposed.

The Aquifer Protection Districts are currently found in the County and the 3 mile JJA. Further discussion will be held at the next meeting regarding this district. Muller asked the boards to review the draft pages of the Aquifer Protection District and be ready to discuss.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:43 p.m.	
Ryan Miller	Gregg Jorgenson, Chairperson
City Planner	

1 40 42